ESTEP: its membership and how it organises for success


Formed in 2003, ESTEP was one of the first European Technology Platforms to be created. Its membership encompasses all the major European steel producers and the European Steel Association, EUROFER; academic centres and research organisations working in steel sector R&D; industrial stakeholders drawn from steel-consuming sectors, such as car manufacturing and heavy engineering; and other stakeholders such as trade union representatives. The European Commission and the Member States are also represented in ESTEP management committees.

Since March 2018 ESTEP is a non-profit organisation according to Belgian law (international ASBL). EESTEP membership is open for all steel stakeholders, which are eligible for European funding. 

Structure and governance

The Board of Directors

ESTEP is governed by Board of Directors. The President is Carl De Maré of ArcelorMittal, the Vice-Presidents are Axel Eggert, Eurofer, and Roberto Pancaldi, Tenova. The fourth Board member is Göran Carlsson, Swerea.

The organisational structure of ESTEP is shown in the diagram.

The Steering Group

The Steering Group is in charge of piloting the overall ESTEP research programme. It reviews the activities of the Focus Groups, ensures planning is in line with the SRA and coordinates between the Working Groups. The Support Group holds three meetings per year, in January, June and October.

The Mirror Group

The Mirror Group is composed of Member States representatives who meet annually to contribute to ESTEP’s objectives. Eighteen Member States out of the EU-28 are represented so far. It serves as a link between the Steering Committee and the Member States on matters concerning EU RTD and national policies and programmes.

The Focus Groups

Seven Focus Groups deal with the implementation of ESTEP's SRA in different domains: two of these deal with steel production. Low Carbon & Energy Efficency and Circular Economy. The first works on the development of safe, clean, energy-efficient and innovative technologies. Focus Group Circular Economy works on innovative solutions to increase the circularity of steel. These implies strong links with reducing CO2 emissions, conserving resources and boosting waste recovery. Three focus groups cover steel applications: steel solutions for transport and mobility,  steel solutions for construction and infrastructure, and steel solutions for energy markets including engineering.Focus  Group People deals with activities for attracting people to the steel industry, skills development, education and training programmes, and occupational safety.

Implementation and Communication Groups

The Focus Groups are supported by the Implementation Group which disseminates and updates the latest information on EU programmes and initiatives. The European Commission participates in the Implementation Group. The Communications Groups supports all the communications activities of ESTEP, in particular through the CIRCA Portal for document and information exchange. The Communications Group is also responsible for producing the ESTEP newsletter and coordinating the annual report.

Last updated on: 05/11/2018 3:33pm